That awkward moment when…

…someone asks a military brat where they’re from. Seriously. I never know how to respond to this question. I usually say something along the lines of “Welllllll….I’ve lived in Georgia the longest but I was born in Nebraska but then we moved to Washington State but I also lived in Hawai’i and Washington DC.” I think I consider Georgia to be “where I’m from”. As I said, I’ve lived here the longest. But I don’t feel like it really rings true with what my sense of “home” is. I miss DC. I miss being someplace with  lot of things to do and culture that isn’t represented by beer and all things fried food. Don’t get me wrong, I love the South. It’s a decent place, despite the trashiness displayed by some of its inhabitants mixed with the Bible thumping that I can never seem to escape. I just…want something more. I belong in a sanctuary of mountains and nature. So, needless to say, I am excited to be moving to Colorado in April/May. I will miss being close to my parents and brother but I think it’s time I use the wings I’ve finally grown this past year and be someplace I can find happiness and belonging. I’m not saying Colorado will necessarily be it but I have high hopes.
The place I dream of “settling” at is one with rolling land and animals speckled across fields. A barn just a ways from the cozy yet elegant house my husband and I have decided to live in and kids playing in the yard. A place that has beautiful Autumns and luxurious Summers. A place I feel my heart beating through. I want to be able to have my own gardens and grow my own food and ride my own horses on my own property. Some day…

I think I’m just going to start responding to the question of where I’m from with “America.”

 

Love,
The Empress

Leave a Reply

